Happy, Happy Birthday, Baby

To the man who bought me Lego Rock Band for Christmas, who takes The Boy on long bike rides in the park, who tugs with the dog because she’s too strong for me.
To the man who stops at Walgreens for the medicine I need, who held my hand when I was too loaded with anesthesia to know, who has made a zillion ice chips for me with a ziplock and a rubber mallet.
To the man who listens even when I’m too upset to talk, who holds me when I just need a good cry, who strokes my hair and has always made me feel safe.
To the man who will do any goofy thing he can to make me smile, who puts on my favorite cologne not when he goes to work but after his shower at 7 at night, who finds one of his biggest joys in life in my laugh.
To the man who loves me, who shares my life, who gives me the chance to share in his…

I love you.  I hope that at least every once in a while I can do an honest to goodness decent job of showing you how much.  Happy Birthday.

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in Marriage, Wedded bliss, Who am I? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy, Happy Birthday, Baby

  1. Kimmothy says:

    *Sniff* You guys give me hope for both mankind and love.

    • Taoist Biker says:

      Don’t assume too much. We do plenty o’ bitchin’, we’ve just more or less had an unspoken agreement that “my spouse” is the ONE thing in our lives we don’t bitch about on our blogs. (And it bugs us so much that we BOTH sometimes talk about starting new anonymous ones just to bitch about each other.) Truth.

      But at least admitting that shit to each other up front and to our faces is good, right? (Right? Tell me I’m right…) 😀

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    That’ll do. Nicely.

    Thanks, babe. I love ya.

    And thanks for not needing hospitalization this year, by the way. Although there were a few moments yesterday when I wondered. 😉

  3. Tiffany says:

    You’re full of awesome, Dys!!!!

  4. iamheatherjo says:

    Aww! You’re too cute! Unlike Kim, I have no hope for mankind or love, but I sure do like you kids an awful lot. 😀

Leave a Reply

