Overheard

The Boy has a short haircut, but it is growing out to the point of starting to stick out in places.  Since he HATES getting his hair cut, he tries to put it off forever.  I’ve told him that a trim will be happening in the next 48 hours, period, but since we just made it back last night, today required some effort to look a little better for school.  So, I sprayed some water on and used a little gel on my hands to slick the sides back and spike the top up, and I must have done a decent job because this was his take on it:

mom, what are you doing?

I’m trying to keep these bits here from sticking out so that it looks a little better until we can trim it.

okay, but i think i liked it better before you started messing with it

Give me some time, son; I’m not finished!  … water, gel, futz, futz, futz.  There, now look.

you’re right, much better, but i don’t know if i can wear it like this.

Why not?

because it’s a catholic school — i don’t think you’re allowed to be cool.

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in Kids, The Boy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overheard

  1. Making kids cool…you should go pro! But soon it will be what the girls think and not what he thinks. Most of us were cool in our own eyes at one point, huh?

  2. boundandgags says:

    What can I say that I haven’t already? Even made my headache go away for a minute. There? That’s a new one.

Leave a Reply

