I don’t need that eye, really.

Happy_Tree_Friends-1So I’m having one of those days where I’m certain that I could have just stabbed myself in the eye and saved us all a whole lot of trouble.

Like 90% of the rest of America, we are gearing up for Back to School.  This means shopping for school supplies with lists made up by people who apparently enjoy being either way too vague or way too specific.  It’s sadism, pure and simple.  And if you consider the fact that I’ve been working like a dog during the week, you realize that only leaves the weekend for us to shop, which is masochism.  So there ya go; Back to School shopping brought to you by S&M.

We still have several things left to buy on our list, one of which, I shit you not, is #2 pencils.  Are you kidding me?  This means I have TWICE been in Hell-Mart without a single plain old #2 pencil to be found anywhere.  Apparently they will next be out of apple pie, Krylon spray paint, and all other things American.

To say that we are a little ill-prepared for the first day of school could be an understatement, but then considering we’re about to start Catholic school and are oh-so-not Catholic, I think the concept of ‘ill-prepared’ is kind of a joke anyway.  I mean, really, the form asked our religion, and basically we, um, fudged a little.  Somehow Militant Agnostic didn’t seem the way to go.

But, I’m ready.  My God, even knowing there is a ton of homework coming (homework in Boy’s language is pronounced “Rabid Bitching”), even knowing there will be hours spent trying to decide how to deal with the religion questions, even knowing that it means my schedule HAS to change (that can’t be a bad thing, though, seriously – it just can’t), I am SO READY.  And you know why?

BECAUSE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, I WANT SOME PEACE AND @(*#^%#(@$^ QUIET FOR 7 HOURS A DAY.

And, really, huge, huge kudos to me for restraining myself all summer and never once screaming at the top of my lungs, “Would you please STFU for just 20 minutes????”

Of course, I do have 5 more days…

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in Kids, The Boy, The Ugly Truth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I don’t need that eye, really.

  1. Pingback: Sign here, please « The Taoist Biker

  2. Kimmothy says:

    I think that sound I heard yesterday morning was the collective parental sigh as the school buses pulled away from their driveways.

Leave a Reply

