Back at ya

As often as I hear my own words come flying out of The Boy’s mouth at random times, you’d think that I’d get over the shock.  I mean, how can you still be surprised at something that happens near daily?  But, it never fails; the little booger always gets me.

A couple of nights ago, we had burritos for dinner.  (Total aside, but this is one of those perfect examples of something you can say and have every single person in the room conjure a different mental image of what it means to them:  love, happiness, burritos.  I LOVE THAT.)  We had just a bit of leftovers, which is great for me because I tend to forget to eat if I don’t have something that I can do very quickly; leftovers are the bomb.

So I’m standing there in the kitchen, having already made and served The Boy’s daily PB&J, constructing my lunch, when he comes waltzing in and talks to me while he does his usual squirming dance around the linoleum floor in his socks, swinging himself out the doorway back to the dining room as he delivers his last line.

whatchyadoin?

Making my lunch.

whatchyamakin?

A burrito.

you’re going to turn into a burrito someday.

… staring after child with my WTF?!? face on.

For the record, this is probably my 3rd burrito in as many years, and the other 2 were on Sunday night. His Majesty, on the other hand, is trying for his spot in the Guinness Book for the most days eating PB&J in a row.  I think he’s up to 10 years if you count the ones he made me crave while he was in utero.

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in Asperger's, The Boy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back at ya

  1. Sarah says:

    I once told my husband he was going to turn into a chicken nugget (he was getting them from McDonald’s every. single. day.) at which point he turned to me and said I would turn into an extra large Dunkin Donuts coffee, which I was only getting maybe once a month (all other coffee needs were being met at home thanks to Mr. Coffee).

    Yeah.

  2. boundandgags says:

    Hey! We observe just fine, ain’t that right, TB? Like, just this morning, I noticed my girlfriend had pants on.

    It’s just that we are, by nature and design, easier creatures of habit, only because we’re thinking so many deep and penetrating thoughts we don’t want to get bogged down remembers minutia (consider yourself lucky we’re still not just saying, ‘Food!’). So we take our nuggets Mc’d daily so we can go about our day changing the world and making it a better place.

    Hmm, on second thought, I think my girlfriend was wearing shorts.

  3. Kimmothy says:

    I get on these kicks where I become obsessed with a certain type of candy and eat it almost daily for months on end (and I wonder why I put on 40 pounds in two years?). Currently it’s Now & Later’s. Brian tries to be nice and bring me treats occasionally but it seems like he always picks up *LAST* season’s candy choice instead of what I’m liking currently. I don’t have the heart to tell him “Those SweetTarts are SO last winter,” so I just politely thank him and stash them away for when I’m desperate.

Leave a Reply

