Blurps

I have a million things on my mind and a billion things to do, so let’s just get some randomosity out of the way, shall we?

  • I don’t watch American Idol, but for all you Adam Lambert fans, Get a Grip.  How LUCKY is he that he won’t be getting totally screwed over by their contract crap?  Coming in second on that show is going to be the best thing that ever happened to his career.  STFU, Next.
     
  • I don’t watch Jon & Kate plus 8 either, but for everyone who is criticizing them, if ya watch the show, you helped make them what they are today.  When you drive by an accident on the freeway, you can either be a lookie-loo OR you can bitch about the ones who are, but ya can’t do both.  STFU, Next.
     
  • We have officially entered the season of Hot, Hazy, and Humid – sleep, repeat, pay big ass electric bill for A/C.  Frick.
     
  • The Boy has just asked when we are going to go camping.  See above.  Double Frick.  For the record, I don’t mind camping… in something RV-ish with electrical hookups for fans, at the least.  And that was pre-menopause.  Currently, just the thought is enough to make me moan in agony and have a hot flash.
     
  • There are 5 days of school left.  Holy Shit.
     
  • Did I mention Holy Shit?
     
  • Immediately following the end of school, The Dog will go to her Doggie Resort where she will be pampered and worn the hell out playing with other dogs for a week while we head off to visit my family.  Why is she not going with us you ask?  My parents have a cat.  We tried taking The Dog with us once, which landed my mother on weeks of antibiotics for a severe infection after her cat bit her in terror because The Dog got away from me and took her insatiable curiosity within 1 foot of the cat.  We’d like to avoid a second showing.  Besides, she has so much fun at the resort place with the other people, dogs, woods, and getting to hang out and be their office dog for a week that it would be much less fun for her to go with us.
     
  • I am looking forward to fishing.  I told this to my husband, and he asked me if I was going to get up early to go or if I was going to swelter in the heat of later in the day.  In other words, he said, “Pick the one you’re going to bitch about.”  I assured him that it would probably be both.  😀
     
  • I lost 5 pounds.  Then I tore up my leg, couldn’t walk, and the inlaws came to visit.  Pretty sure I gained it back.  What the hell is it about being with extended family that makes you eat more?  Is that a universal law of nature?  WTF?
     
  • I am eating differently though, more protein through the day and lots of fruits and veggies, and that feels really good.  I can feel the difference in not wanting the typical carbs like crackers, chips, cookies, or even cereal.  Now if I can make myself drink water and stop drinking Pepsi.  Yeah, that’s so disheartening to even think about that I can’t even say anything more about it!
     
  • I recently learned a couple of potential health issues that could be on my horizon.  First, it seems that I could be (not definite) at an increased risk for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig disease), as this disease has been in my direct line in my family.  It is possible that my odds could be as high as 50/50 in the future.  ALS basically paralyzes the body, leaving the mind unscathed – at least until the need for morphine comes in near the end and causes hallucinations and paranoia.  Secondly, insulin resistance causes a much higher incidence of Alzheimer’s, a disease which shreds the mind and basically leaves the body alone.  Okay, so while neither of these is good news, I have to say, if I have to get one, I gotta root for both.  If I have both, then by the time Alzheimer’s screws up my mind so that I’d be wandering off, my body could be screwed up enough that wandering isn’t possible.  And by the time my body refuses to move to the point of causing me pain that makes me crazy, my mind will be torn up enough so that I won’t actually notice.  People, seriously, if something bad HAS to happen, that’s a win-win for me!  I’ll be rolling for double or nothing.
     
  • With possible increased odds, I made my husband promise that should I ever be diagnosed with a neurodegenerative disorder, after I die (no, not before), he will donate my brain to research for said disease.  Brain specimens don’t come along every day for those scientists, folks, and that is some very needed tissue for research.  Think about it, ya know, for when you’re finished with yours.  😉
     
  • Had planned to take the dog for her yearly shots, etc., today.  Anyone want to guess the one day of the week my vet’s office is closed?  
     
  • Real Genius is one of the most brilliant movies ever made.  Period.  How can you not love a movie with a freaked out genius who lives in a closet?  “Can you hammer a 6-inch spike through a board with your penis?  Well, no, not right now.  A girl’s gotta have her standards.”

With that, I leave you with what will forever be known to me as the Diet Coke Skating Girl song.  Truly makes me wish I could put on some roller skates and zip around the dance floor, preferably without the trip to the ER.  Oh, and I’m fully aware what the song is about and in no way support or encourage it (and am not being sarcastic there, damn it).  KIDS:  Don’t do drugs.

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in Blathering, Damn It, Family, Kids, Marriage, Musical, Randomosity, The Boy, The Dog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Blurps

  1. boundandgags says:

    Before I get to the ‘holy fuck’ portion of this message, let’s get something out in the open first:

    You may be the only perfect person I’ve met.

    What? I have to expound upon that? Sheesh! Isn’t it obvious? I mean, it’s right there for all to see. But, if I must for the others.

    Your assessment of watching car wrecks/allowing someone who’d never speak to you in the first place become a focal point in your life is quite odd. If not downright scary in a ‘Seriously, I’ll hit you in the head with this stick if you don’t stop crying about the loss/impending divorce.”

    Ahh, camping, to paraphrase Jim Gaffigan, “My wife says camping is a tradition in her family. It was a tradition in everyone’s family until we invented the house. My parents never took me camping. Do you know why? Because they loved me.”

    But, the real proof that you are perfect is your absolutely correct assessment of the fine feature film, Real Genius.

    Okay, TB’s not too far back on the perfect meter (though is his back) by giving you an option to bitch about yet knowing both are going to be touched upon.

    As far as health concerns, let’s hope that’s all they become. But, again, your assessment, “Hey! Chill! I’ll be such a hopped up, crazy zombie what’ll it matter?” and desire to do good for others proves your perfection.

    • dyskinesia says:

      My therapist recently retired. If/when I sally forth into a new therapy relationship, I’m going to print this entry and your reply. The facial expression post read will tell me whether that’s the counselor for me. (Former therapist would have loved it.) 🙂

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Dude, if you’re putting me and Dys that high up on your Perfect Meter, you might want to take that fucker in for calibration.

    I’m just sayin’. 😀

  3. Kim says:

    I hate my parents for buying an RV when we were little, thus ruining me for tent-campin’ for the rest of my life. And then not providing me with the means to buy my OWN RV now that I’m their age. Oh, I’ll still try it every so often in a tent, but it has to be either April or October and it has to be in the mountains and, and…see? I just have a real aversion to being hot and/or swarmed with bugs. As you might imagine, this next few months isn’t my favorite time of year.

  4. boundandgags says:

    Now, now! I don’t want to ferment dissension before dinner!

    After 8 okay?

  5. iamheatherjo says:

    Camp in the back yard first to see if he likes it. 😀

    My friend and her two girls do it all the time. Well, they START out in a tent in the back yard and then someone usually gets scared/cold/bored/cranky and they end up back in the house before midnight. I don’t think they have made it out there an entire night yet.

  6. Pingback: Blurps | Education Without Reason

Leave a Reply

