Double Frick – Update #1, The Boy

Thanks so much for all the well wishes, everyone!  It’s going to be a long couple of weeks around here as we wait this thing out to see who gets what, if anything.

As soon as I saw the school’s number on the ID, my head flashed through the things I needed to do in order to get out the door.  Answering the phone just put it into play.

The Boy had a slight fever and a very flushed face after no physical activity.  They didn’t want to be overly concerned, but since we’re talking about a kid in his class, that he eats lunch with, etc., better to stop and think.  It was up to me what I wanted to do.  No contest, of course, I went to get him so that I could keep a very close eye on him for the rest of the day. 

After just one dose of ibuprofen at school, kiddo’s temp is quite normal.  Impressively, the child who would swear his leg was Falling! Off! if he thought someone would let him out of school for it, when asked if anything hurt, did not make stuff up.  He says he is not sick and feels fine, just that his face feels really warm.  It’s funny how when you really need your kid’s BS to fall away, it usually does.

So now he’s resting on the couch, talking nonstop, no fever, playing his favorite video game, with a puppy at his feet who is happy that he is home to share a blanket with her.

I’ll be watching his temp for the rest of the day.  If he doesn’t register anything between now and tomorrow morning, back to school we’ll go.

Feels a little like being on a merry-go-round for a few hundred too many spins!

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in ADD. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Double Frick – Update #1, The Boy

  1. iamheatherjo says:

    I’m glad The Boy is feeling fine. Hope his fever stays down.

    Don’t forget to breathe, sweetie.

    My Mom said she always knew I was really sick when I finally shut up. I’d say it must be a kid thing, but I’m still like that. 😉

  2. I remember the feelings we had when we brought each of our kids home. We stood there staring at each of them waiting for something bad to happen…I would imagine you have a bit of those same feelings now.

  3. Pingback: Double Frick, A Secondhand Update « The Taoist Biker

Leave a Reply

