Simple Man

I think I’ve mentioned in the past that I am normally not a big fan of covers of classics.  It comes from the same place inside me that can barely stand to watch <insert cool kid of the month’s name here> sing The Star-Spangled Banner before the Super Bowl, World Series, etc., which is to say that there are some things you just don’t do unless you can do them 110%.  Covers and the national anthem both must be done with precision, either as an outstanding rendition that basically matches the original in its tone, pace, etc., (call it playing it clean) or gives it entirely your own flavor but with RESPECT to the original rendition of the song.

Yeah, I’m picky. 😀

So, all that said, one of my all-time favorite songs, even before I was the mother of a son — and a special needs son at that, is Lynyrd Skynyrd’s Simple Man.  Shinedown has done a very good version of the song, packed with emotion, that I was shocked to find myself enjoying on the radio the other day…

…right up to the point where he sang the.wrong.lyrics.

Excuse me?  What??

Yes, you heard me.  And it isn’t just one word, it’s three – in two different spots.  This is making my stomach hurt just to type.  The words he sings don’t even make sense; they don’t go with the song, they don’t fit the intent, and just how in the HELL did no one associated with the making of this sucker NOT NOTICE THAT?  My God.  

Ignore the crappy video and the pink hair.  Seriously, change windows because the video takes away from the experience of the song (which admittedly is better enjoyed driving down the road with the windows down because on the computer, it sounds a bit too much like he’s just yelling).  But note, if you’d be so kind, that the lyrics were intended to be:

FORGET your lust FOR the rich man’s gold
All that you need is in your soul
And you can do this (oh baby) if you try
All that I want FOR you my son is to be satisfied. 

What do you think?  Like it, don’t like it?  Demand a retake on the stupid lyrical screwup?

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in Damn It, Musical, People who piss me off and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Simple Man

  1. Kim says:

    Okay, things like this keep me awake at night. What the HELL is the point behind changing the lyrics like that? Did they not get permission from Skynyrd, and so they could only go 95% of the way? Other than that, you’re right; it’s a really good cover. Grrr, what the hell.
    I used to love hearing the Star Spangled Banner and if done right, can still send chills up my spine and even make me cry (as your husband so kindly pointed out, I do cry like a little bitch at a lot of things – my words, not his). But now it’s a rare occasion when somebody sings it and doesn’t add thirty extra syllables, runs, pitches and notes and just tries to Whitney Houston it up. I hate it.

  2. boundandgags says:

    I have to agree with you. Do it better, the same or don’t do it at all. I have a problem with vocal gymnastics for the sake of proving your pipes. If it doesn’t add something to the song, leave please.

    My girlfriend goes batshit crazy when someone doesn’t stick to the original. It’s why I always try to distract her at the start of ball games. A bad rendition of the national anthem can set her off until the middle of the third inning.

  3. Laura says:

    I agree with Kim and Bound – do it better, or don’t do it at all. However, The Ataris did a version of “Boys of Summer” that I kind of like, even though they replaced “dead head sticker on a cadillac” with “black flag sticker…” and a couple of other punk references.

    I WILL say that I like Korn’s version of “Word Up” MUCH better than the original. That was a case of doing it better, IMHO.

  4. Pingback: Per nugget « Snerkology

Leave a Reply

