Random addenda

Things I forgot to mention:

The current soundtrack is chainsaws and sirens, with a random odd beep coming from the other room that I will eventually pay some attention to, but since I know it isn’t any of the items we have in the house to warn of Fire! Carbon Monoxide! Doom!!, it’s gonna have to wait a bit yet.  At least the chainsaws are louder than the sirens at the moment, and the sirens are far fewer and farther between than they were before we left.  Or I’d have spent the day in tears.  (Sometimes it isn’t easy living near a fire station.)

It’s obvious that while we were gone, gremlins tore through our home like the maddening little spawn that they are.  (Okay, so maybe we were actually the ones who threw things aside willy-nilly in a desperate dash to get the hell outta here ASAFP, but I prefer the version in which we accept no blame whatsoever; that’s what is workin’ for me today.)  The state of our house is like a bridal shop after a $99 sale.  I can’t find $#!~.

The dog has very happily resumed her love affair with the heat vent.  I don’t think the heat has come on ONCE today that she’s missed it.  In fact, she JUST jumped up here to lay on my feet and settled in, but when the heat came on 2 seconds later, she jumped off the couch so fast that I swear I saw her suspended in mid-air for a second like she was in The Matrix.

Frig is cold, but I’m so busy with work that the only things to have made it back inside so far are the wine and the Pepsi.  Alcohol and caffeine:  If those aren’t symbolic of natural disaster, I don’t know what is.

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in Damn It, Randomosity, The Dog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random addenda

  1. Laura says:

    “…the only things to have made it back inside so far are the wine and the Pepsi.”

    Well! Looks to me you’ve got your priorities in order. Glad you’re all back okay!

  2. Pingback: Zzzz… « The Taoist Biker

Leave a Reply

