Trying to think Macro.

We’re getting ready to vacate Dodge here and head back to TB’s stomping grounds for the holidays.  This is a stressful time of year in general what with the rigorous demands of being a parent:  the gifts, the school program, the crafts, the school parties, the office parties, the constant ISTOMORROWGONNABEASNOWDAYYET???  

We have an added kink in a kiddo’s birthday very near Christmas, a bummer on its own, but let me tell you, having to buy Christmas gifts AND birthday gifts in the same 6 weeks — of so-called HOT toys, overinflated prices, and everyone else shopping at the same time — have to trust me, but tres suck!

Poor TB suffers in a special ADD-spouse pre-trip stress.   After double-digit years with me, the man has learned that trying to get me to get ready for a trip before the last 24 hours is a bit like trying to convince folks that Elvis is dead.  Logic may be on your side, but pointing at the pictures (or in my case, the calendar) isn’t going to get it done.

See, I realized yesterday that we’re leaving in 3 days.  Now, I’m pretty sure that it was just the day before that my ADD math assured me I still had 10 days left.  That’s a problem, right there. 

So, even though TB worked hard last weekend to pack up his and the boy’s stuff even more ahead of schedule than he has in the past, a full week prior mind you, in a truly valiant effort to inspire me to do the same, I’m still not packed.  Oh, I was inspired, no doubt!  I just didn’t manage the action to go with the inspiration.  (Oh, that has tagline written all over it, doesn’t it?)

I have a semi-quiet morning at work this morning, though I worked until almost 4 a.m. to earn it — and awoke at 7:10 to the sound of a yakking pup, ugh.  So yeah, okay, I’m dragging.  But I’m still going to go get my clothes together for the trip, attempt to set aside whatever I need to wash first, and then get into the shower to slap on some humanity before the Christmas Program de Mijo, Day 2.

A million other things I want and need to accomplish all at once are fighting like hell to take over my ADD brain, but I’ve learned that keeping my list to about 3 gives me better odds.  Too many things on the list leads to overwhelm and paralysis and a bit plate of pie.

Off I go.  Wish me luck that I can add another 3, ya know, TODAY.

 

Stay tuned for….   song results.

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in ADD, Damn It, Family, Kids, Marriage, Organization, The Ugly Truth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trying to think Macro.

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Hehehe, when you say something like “slap on some humanity” it makes it damn near impossible to be mad at ya. 😀

  2. Pingback: Hitting Overdrive « The Taoist Biker

  3. Elvis has been seen in a diner up the street from my house. Consider yourself added to my list of unbelievers.

Leave a Reply

