My finger hurts from pressing Skip.

A while ago, a bunch of y’all did an Ipod List of throwing on the shuffle and posting the first 4 lines of the songs that came up first.  I’d been meaning to do it (which, if you’ve learned anything from me about ADD, you knew already) and finally got everything reloaded into my new fancy schmancy iTunes that actually runs on a Mac, much better, I must add, that it ran on Windows.  Gee, odd that, huh?

 

In typical Me fashion, I don’t have a clue how many songs I was supposed to have – thought maybe 20, so that’s what I went with.  Also in typical Me fashion, my ADD makes me hate hunting down all the links that I want to include in my posts, to the point that it often keeps me from posting.  Therefore, props to my husband for being such a lovely as to do it for me.  😀

 

I will say that I remember a whole bunch of ppl doing it, and I loved your lists.  Off the top of my head:  TB, Laura, Heather, Dead Charming (who even loaded the music to his page, oooooooo aaaaaaaahhh!).

 

Looking at this rather eclectic list made me realize something:  I don’t have any opera on my ipod.  I should fix that.  But, hey, there’s your hint:  No arias here.

 

I also note that I opted out of a few songs that were:  instrumental (duh), entirely in Spanish, and all of my husband’s music because half I didn’t know and half I couldn’t possibly tell if there WERE lyrics in all that screaming.  Hence, our title because this ended up one time-consuming event, sheesh.

 

Titles or parts of titles have been omitted with …

 

Without further, further ado:

 

1.

She paints her nails

and she don’t know

He’s got her best friend

on the phone

 

2.

Well, I don’t know why I came here tonight

I got the feelin’ that somethin’ ain’t right

I’m so scared in case I’ll fall off my chair

and I’m wonderin’ how I’ll get down the stairs

(Gonna learn y’all’s movie tastes with that one)

 

3.

Well, the south side of Chicago

is the baddest part of town

And if ya go down there, ya better just beware

of a man named…..

 

4.

I walk along the city streets

you used to walk along with me

and every step I take reminds me

of just how we used to be

 

5.

They say ….. was a good girl, never one to be late,

complain, express ideas in her brain

Workin’ on the night shift, passin’ out the tickets,

you’re gonna have to pay her, if ya wanna park here

 

6.

I’m so tired

of falling in love

finding it easier

to fall out

 

7.

Is it too much to ask

I want a comfortable bed that won’t hurt my back

food to fill me up

and warm clothes and all that stuff

 

8.

Spend all your time waiting

for that second chance

for a break

that would make it okay

 

9.

I got another confession to make

I’m your fool

Everyone’s got their chains to break

Holding you

 

10.

Tilling my own grave to keep me level

Jam another dragon down the hole

Digging to the rhythm and the echo of a solitary siren,

One that pushes me along and leaves me so

 

11.

Ever close your eyes, ever stop and listen

Ever feel alive, and you’ve nothing missing

You don’t need a reason

Let the day go on and on

 

12.

I hear the clock, it’s 6 a.m.

I feel so far from where I’ve been

I’ve got my eggs, I’ve got my pancakes too

I’ve got my maple syrup, everything but you

 

13.

I was only just a friend to you

All I wanted to do is get to know you, girl

Now I wanna give my heart to you

Tell me, do you feel like I do, when we’re together

 

14.

Sometime, I wanna take you down

Sometime, I wanna get you …

Brush your hair back from your eyes

Take you down, let the river flow

 

15.

Please allow me to introduce myself

I’m a man of wealth and taste

I’ve been around for a long, long year

Stolen many a man’s soul and faith

 

16.

All of my purple life

I been lookin’ for a dame

that would wanna be my wife

that was my intention, babe

 

17.

One part of me just wants to tell you everything

One part just needs the quiet

and if I’m lonely here

I’m lonely here

 

18.

I didn’t know you

but I could see it in your eyes

Shattered dreams and hopes

You’ve been hurt too many times

 

19.

Once I was a boogie singer

playin’ in a rock ‘n’ roll band

I never had no problems

burnin’ down the one-night stands

 

20.

If I had to

I would put myself right beside you

So let me ask:  Would you like that?

Would you like that?

 

BONUS:

Got up early, found something’s missing

My only name

No one else sees, but I got stuck

and soon forever came

 

If anyone gets the bonus WITHOUT GOOGLE ANY SEARCH ENGINE (or any other form of freakin’ cheatin’), I’ll actually post every single day for a week, guaranteed.  And if you don’t make fun of me for it, then I might even make them intelligible!**

 

**(People married to me are disqualified.)

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in ADD, Left Field, Musical, Randomosity, Who am I? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My finger hurts from pressing Skip.

  1. Sarah says:

    1. Flavor of the Weak by American Hi-fi (much better with the songs than the bands)
    12. You weren’t meant for me by Jewel
    15. Sympathy for the Devil by Rolling Stones (unless you have Guns N Roses on your iPod, it could be them too)
    20. Diary of Jane by Breaking Benjamin

    Those are the ones that I know I know without cheating.

    Bravo! Although I think Jewel was going for You WERE meant for me, but ya know what? I like yours better!

    And actually, yes, it’s the G-n-R version of Sympathy, though I probably like the Stones version better. Just not a big Stones fan with a few exceptions.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    For the record, I got 8 without help.

    For the record, he means 8 total, not just the #8

  3. Laura says:

    Isn’t it funny how seeing the lyrics written down, all prosey, throws off the recognition? On a bunch of ’em I’m all, “I KNOW I know that one…”

    Yep, because I was terrible with y’all’s. Of course, I also do that all the time with TB playing guitar. He’ll be playing it great, and I’m all, Okay, tell me what song that is… 😛

  4. crisitunity says:

    2. Stuck in the Middle With You
    3. Mack the Knife, I think
    8. Angel

    I swear I know 4 and 19, but like Laura I can’t figure them out. 16 looks like it’s probably Prince, but that’s sort of a joke-guess.

    Yep – and I can’t believe no one else has gotten this one too! I can’t even SEE those words without seeing Madsen doing his little psycho shuffle. Love the song though!
    Nope. (although Ella Fitzgerald’s Mack the Knife is on my ipod too)
    Yep.

    And your joke guess is right (who else has a purple life??). Now can you guess the song?

    I’m betting that you do know 4 and 9, the former being older and the latter being newer.

  5. crisitunity says:

    I GOT IT – 4 is Always Something There to Remind Me!!

    Go girl!

    Do you have the live-in-Berlin version where Ella forgets the words partway through? If you don’t, download it, this minute.

    Yep, that’s the one – love it!

    I don’t know enough about Prince, like at ALL, to know the song. I pretty much only know the main hits of his.

    This was a big hit, but definitely not on the radio! Huge in clubs, I’m sure (I was probably 13 or something, so that’s an assumption).

  6. This whole thing makes my head hurt…

    #19. Play that funky music…KC and the Sunshine Band.

    If I’d have guessed the disco guesser in the crowd, you would not have been it. I do love to discover these hidden tidbits! The band was actually Wild Cherry, so maybe that part was worth regaining some dignity?

    The Prince song is Erotic City.

    Again, I had Laura pegged as the only one who had a chance at this one! Verrrrry interesting, MTAE. Verrrrry interesting, indeed. 😉

    I am very ashamed that these are the two that I knew…

  7. crisitunity says:

    I’m sorry I keep commenting, but I figured out #3 on the way home. Bad Bad Leroy Brown.

  8. Pingback: mostly musical « crisitunity = crisis + opportunity

  9. iamheatherjo says:

    I didn’t know I had been called out on this one over at crisitunity’s! Hahaha! 🙂

    #2 Stuck in the Middle With You (My imaginary boyfriend Michael Madsen is dancing in my head)

    #3 Bad Bad Leroy Brown

    #4 Always Something There To Remind Me

    #7 Passionate Kisses

    #10 Weak & Powerless
    #12 You Were Meant For Me

    #14 Stoned

    #15 Sympathy For The Devil

    #18 Jaded Heart (OH MY GOD DOKKEN!!!)

    #19 Play That Funky Music White Boy

    Okay, that’s all I got. 🙂

    That was a fun one!

    Woo! You even beat TB’s score! I knew you’d be the only one to get Weak and Powerless and the only one with a CHANCE at Jaded Heart (TB didn’t even get that one).

    Close on 14 – so close it should actually be the alternate title, but I’ll bet you’re thinking of the right song.

    And always said that you can tell who had seen Pulp Fiction and who hadn’t just by singing, Well, I don’t know why I came here tonight… and watching the reactions.

  10. iamheatherjo says:

    Oooohhh it’s Low!! Duh…hey hey hey like being Stoned. Hahaha. Ooops. I had to sing it. 🙂

  11. iamheatherjo says:

    Oh and the movie…Reservoir Dogs. It’s my favorite.

    Oh for the love of almighty crap. I can’t believe I just said that. *hangs her head in SERIOUS shame*

  12. Pingback: I Want To (Push) Play « What Was I Thinking?

  13. Pingback: Skip, skip - The Songs « Dyskinesia: (n.) difficulty with voluntary movement.

  14. suzy2110 says:

    I’m just reading this now so it doesn’t count, but it really interested me that noone got #9- the Foo’s are really, really popular in the UK and Ireland- any man on the street could have told you who that song was by! Are they not as big in the States?

    They’re actually pretty big here too, though this song is not played as much currently as it was when the CD first came out. Maybe that had something to do with it. Our radio stations tend to be overly pollutant of whatever the most current thing is (that being where the money is, of course). I suck at picking out lyrics without the song, but that’s probably the one on my list that would have jumped out at me very first too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

