The Cost of Freedom


If I die in a combat zone
Box me up and ship me home
Pin my medals upon my chest
Tell my mama I did my best.

I don’t care about your politics, your religion, your beliefs.  Americans, today you look at a veteran and say, “Thank you for my freedom.”

It doesn’t matter if you agreed with when, where, or how or when they served.  It doesn’t matter what they did or didn’t do.  It doesn’t matter whether they wanted to be a part of it or not.  They deserve our thanks for doing something we would never want to do, for doing what their country asked them to do. 

Thank you to our veterans, to their families for their sacrifices, to their friends for helping them to survive – in life or in memory, to their children for what they have lost for the rest of us.  The debt cannot be repaid.

Thank you, Great-grandpa. 
Thank you, Grandpa. 
Thank you, Daddy.

I promise you that I will never forget.

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in Family, Who am I? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cost of Freedom

  1. Laura says:

    My uncle was in Vietnam, and my Grandpa was in WWII. This generation needs to remember what the generation before us did “for our country’s first language to still be English”, as my husband would say.

  2. suzy2110 says:

    I’m not an American, but many of my relatives fought in WW1 and WW2.

    It’s hard to comprehend what these people went through so we could have everything we have today.

    I salute them and the people who are still doing this now so that we, and other nations, can have basic human rights and liberties. It must be a hell of a job.

Leave a Reply

