When it rains, it pours

But it will take a couple of months to figure out whether that means I’m floating happily along or drowning in flood.

Almost exactly a year ago (wow), I was contacting potential clients to learn what kind of opportunities I had available to me.  One client that I was very interested in working with, for a multitude of reasons, was also very interested in me, but they currently didn’t have the work available and were waiting on clients of their own to get up to speed before they could offer a contract to yours truly.  Since I didn’t have a couple of months to wait around on them, I had to accept a contract with someone else (read: the gig where I ended up wanting to rip out someone else’s hair).

A few months into that gig, Client #1 contacted me again, but I was out of town and was late in replying back.  I also wasn’t 100% that I would want to stop working with The Maddening Client yet (ha! silly me!), but by then, they were booked up again anyway. 

Now, I’ve left The Maddening Client in the dust, ever so happily, and moved on to another client where things have not gone exactly as I’d planned or hoped, but I’m still quite happy with what I have managed to do there so far.  I’ve learned a few more things about my options there and am not totally sure that I would want to follow the exact path I’d initially imagined, which is fine and I actually feel grateful for finding out before having just jumped on that bandwagon.  Of course, that in mind, I’ve been wondering how that new knowledge would affect my financial planning since the finances of what I had planned on happening are more of a requirement than an option.  Which brings us to:

9:49 p.m.   I’m playing Rock Band, the rest of the house is in bed (it’s been a long week around here), and the phone rings.  For the record, the phone does not ring around here after about 9 p.m., virtually ever.  This is odd.

Client #1 is on the phone, calling to offer me not one, but two jobs.

Because I am certifiably insane, I accepted.  It’s a damn good thing that school started when it did!  I’m looking forward to it, and I’m really hoping that I’ll be able to make some money without, ya know, killing myself at all 3 jobs.  Wish me luck – I think I’m going to need it!

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in Who am I? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When it rains, it pours

  1. Laura says:

    Congrats, and good luck!

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Say-hey, I nominated you for an award!

    Not that I’m biased or anything.

  3. Sarah says:

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

