The Nutshell

In.sa.ni.ty.  Can you use it in a sentence, boys and girls?  I’ll bet you can!

The past couple of weeks have just been bonkers.  I’ve been up to my eyeballs in learning, educating, fixing, and auditioning at work.  The silver lining?  I was very pleased with how it went, and it was also very educational for me about what I do and do not want to take on in the long run with this job.  I learned a lot about my boss and am happy to report that all of it was good, and after the last gig, that is some Nestea-type refreshing news (remember the pool?).

That said, I am sooooo ready for a quick vacation! 

School is starting in the very near future.  Sing it with me now, It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!!!  The summer was very long and very short.  On the one hand, I can’t wait to have a quiet house again during the day, when I can focus on work and maybe actually make more than I would working weekends at WalMart, but I will also deeply miss him being a part of my day; I just realized that I’ll be eating lunch by myself, without him, and my eyes got all teary.  I wonder if I’ll remember to eat… 

Looking back, I think the kid and I made it through pretty well – honestly, better than expected but for my paycheck, albeit without nearly as much maintenance of academic learning as I would have like, though I think he did considerably well in the social and worldly arena.  It’s never as much as it needs to be, but he’s grown in his willingness to take risks, his acceptance of things that are new/different/changing, and in dealing with things that are outside his comfort zone – whether that means walking away from it or getting in someone’s face to stand up for his friend.  We’re still working on standing up for himself, but by God, that’s a helluva lot of genetics to overcome because his dad and I still have trouble with it.  We’re all learning though, and I have faith that we’ll all get better.

Oh, and he learned about deodorant and that it may not make people like you but it can keep them from not liking you because you smell like gym socks. 

[Believe it or not, this can be a major Aspie issue; for all their heightened sensory issues, a lot of Aspies, particularly boys, don’t pay the least bit of attention to their own body odor or other body issues – teeth brushing, wearing clean clothes, hair brushing, etc.  If you have an Aspie child and can at all make personal hygiene tasks part of the “rules” of every day, start as soon as possible; it gets harder as they get older!  We did this, and our kid is good about it or at least good when told to do it, but since daily baths were out because of eczema, that is more of a battle now.]

It’s funny to see how he has grown and then think about some of the smaller things that haven’t changed at all.  He still won’t ride down to the friend’s house down the street and knock on the door because it makes him nervous.  He still can’t remember to come and tell me when his friends are here and he’s going outside to play (I can hear him talking to them and going out, but ya know, that’s not the point!).  He still thinks that 4 food groups are chicken nuggets, PB&J, Mom’s cheeseburgers, and popsicles and that snack time is every minute that isn’t actually meal time between the hours of 8 a.m. and 8 p.m.

All-in-all, we’ve managed pretty well, and we’re all really looking forward to a quick family trip to just enjoy some time to ourselves without the usual obligation and routine noise of being at home.  I, for one, cannot WAIT to get the heck out from behind my computer, not have to be at Fido’s beck and call for potty duty, and to cuddle with my husband earlier than 3 a.m. when he is unconscious and has no idea.  Heck, I might even come home going to bed at a reasonable hour again (how many of you have to go on vacation to do that?!).

And so it is that I will spend a couple of days transitioning from the madness of the constant Mom, Mom, Mom, Mom, MOM?!?! and into the madness of school supplies, homework, birthday parties (and more birthday parties, a hopefully regular-ish work schedule, and football (because fall is always about football to me, even if I’m not watching it).

It’s the most wonderful time of the year.  🙂

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in ASD, Asperger's, Family, Kids, The Dog, Therapy, Wedded bliss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

