You could put an eye out.

When I said before that I was accident-prone?  Yeah, that might have been understating it just a bit. 

Tonight, I was playing with the dog with her most fabulous toy, which is basically very tough tennis ball material in the form of a jack –of the type you played with as a child, not so much the jumping kind or the cards kind.  We were doing our patented tug-wrestle, with one arm of the jack in my hands very near my face and one arm of the jack in her mouth (because I was worried that you might think she’d grown an opposable thumb there…).  She apparently didn’t have quite as good of a grip as I imagined, or she’d decided to let me have it for being gone part of the day, because she lost her end, and I took the big rounded end of the arm directly in the eye.

IN. THE. EYE.

Not the eyelid.  The Eye.  It hurt enough that I was rendered incoherent for a couple of minutes and had trouble explaining to my husband, who was just re-entering the room, what had happened.  All I knew for sure was that it felt like my eye was going to explode and that whatever liquid was trapped under the eyelid I could not possibly open felt warm.  Not a reassuring feeling.

I’m at least happy to report that not only was it not blood, but I can also see.  My eyelid is a bit puffy, and my eye is very red and irritated, but everything seems to be working pretty well so far.  I was quite happy that I’m not supposed to work tomorrow and quite bummed that I wanted to play Rock Band tonight but figured that it suddenly wasn’t a good time to be keeping my eyes wide open while trying to follow the notes scrolling toward me.  Thhppptt.

Mental note:  Let the dog win more.

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in ADD, Damn It, Left Field, The Dog, Who am I? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You could put an eye out.

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    I’m glad that I was apparently mistaken in saying that you’d have a black eye from it…but I’d also like to thank you for publicly noting that, if you did, it wasn’t because of me!

Leave a Reply

