Funk-y

If you’ve ever thought to yourself, “Gee, I really wish I could get myself into one hell of a funk right now,” I’m here with your solution — because that’s the helpful kind of chick that I am. 

All you need to do is go through your finances with a semi-fine-toothed comb, realize how little money you have and how truly in debt you are, and then literally pour your heart out on paper to beg someone for as much financial aid as they can possibly give you so that your special needs child can continue to get the special needs education that he’d be completely screwed without.

It’s just that simple.

Well, not entirely that simple.  If you want it to be a really good funk, you need to repeat the process every year.  By year 4, I assure you that you’ll be thoroughly demoralized.  I know that you’re ready to get started right now!

I’d go to sleep for several days in an effort to rid myself of this slimy funk-y-ness, but tomorrow, my husband and I have to meet with a bunch of professionals so that they can finally tell us, officially, that our son has an ‘educational diagnosis’ of autism.

At which point, we’ll turn to each other and very calmly say, “No shit.”

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in Asperger's, Autism, Damn It, Kids, The Ugly Truth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Funk-y

  1. awalkabout says:

    Oh man I had to laugh. That gut wrenching sad kind of laughter. Because we struggled for years to get a dx for our boy but no one finally took us seriously until the first grade teacher announced he had autism. Well. Duh. You think?

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    I’d planned on turning to each other, then turning BACK to them before saying “No shit,” but otherwise yeah that’s the plan.

  3. Pingback: No shit. « The Taoist Biker

  4. Becca says:

    Hi, I popped over here from TB’s blog. I just wanted to say that I can kind of empathize with the money situation. The cost of living is just getting higher and higher but the amount of money people are making just stays the same.

Leave a Reply

