Inspiration, part deux: The Taxman Cometh

Yeah, okay.  Who thought I’d actually finish the photos by the end of the month?  Let’s see a show of hands….

Anyone with your hand up?  You need to read me more; you would have known better.

It is definitely not off my radar, but I have to admit that my taxes are currently absorbing what is left of my sanity — and I haven’t even started them yet.

But Dys, you have a month left!  No, no actually, I have 10 days.

My kid goes to a fabulous, wonderful, I can’t say enough good things about it but someday I’ll write a blog where I try, super school.  Said super school is private and, therefore, requires a tuition payment larger than our mortgage payment.  Now, it’s the best money ever spent, BUT it’s still a frickin’ boatload o’ dough.  Thus, we file an application with them for financial aid.  The application requires a copy of our taxes.  The application is due on March 24.

You see the issue.

So, my entire goal this week is to get my laptop into the shop to be repaired because, yes, last year’s taxes are on there, which I have to have to do this year’s taxes, and then to get my freakin’ taxes finished and still have hair left on my head.  And hopefully to remember to shower once or twice in the process.  I’m self-employed, so taxes are not a matter of adding up what we paid versus what we owed and mailing in the form/check.  No, there are deductions to be taken and receipts to be found. 

Yes, found.  Did I mention that I have ADD?  The majority of those receipts (I do attempt an effort, after all) are in piles of papers that conveniently reside throughout every corner of our house (I’m sorry, honey, truly sorry!) and in boxes and in tubs and in baskets and on countertops and on desks and ….  you get the idea. 

I once watched an organizational show (har dee har har – if you have enough money to spend, you too can be organized!  foooooor about 15 minutes….) where the ‘professional’ actually had the audacity to say that the client was a ‘surface abuser’ and that meant that the professional was going to minimize the number of surfaces the client had available to abuse, thereby supposedly forcing her to put things away instead of pile.

Excuse me.  Are you going to remove my floor too? 

Yeah, then forget it, Sister.  That’s not going to accomplish your goal, and if I’m paying you that kind of money, you’d damn sure better bring more game than that.

If you need me, I’ll be on the floor – looking for my receipts.

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in ADD, Damn It, Kids, Organization, People who piss me off, Photos, The Ugly Truth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

