Music to breathe – Citizen Cope

I instantly fell in love with this song, even though I could only partially hear it at the time. 

To be honest, I’m not much one to listen to new music.  Every once in a while, when I don’t have a cd in the car that matches my mood, I will flip on the radio.  I have absolutely no tolerance for commercials or suffering through talking heads unless I’m actually looking for a traffic update (it’s a long commute to pick up the kid at school), so in general, the second I hear someone start blathering, I’m button punching.  The result, of course, is that I also rarely hear an entire song.  All that to say that the radio doesn’t introduce me to much either.

Lately, most of my new music exposure has been from watching the show Scrubs.  Now, if you think you’re not the Scrubs type, bear with me, because I was damned sure that I wasn’t either.  In fact, the mere idea of the show perturbed the hell out of me for the first few years it was on, possibly because they played up the whole Heather Graham thing at the time, and I deeply detest her.  I give her credit here, though, she brings the funny.  My husband started watching it this past year, and as with all things in a marriage, you eventually become too lazy to move from your spot and end up subjecting yourself to something you hadn’t planned to.  (I know, I’m a romantic.)  Turned out that it was a great show put together with a lot deeper thought than I ever expected.

The creator, Bill Lawrence, says that most of the music comes from his wife, Christa Miller, and the cast (who now just take their music ideas to her instead of him).  I’m not sure whom I have to thank for this particular song, but a big shout out to the Scrubs family over there.  You’ve given me a lot of music to breathe.

Without further adieu, Citizen Cope.  In appreciation of my ADD, I present this in 3 different formats – because we all know I can’t pick just one.

LP version with video pieced in a reasonably professionalish fashion:

Live and slow, shot by same person as above (so ya know, he’s not singing into his cell phone while he tapes it):

Featuring Santana, a wizard among men, absolutely beautiful.  Again, a video put together, this one over footage from the film The Fountain, a film I’ve not seen but appears to be somewhere between interesting and WTF.  If you really want to enjoy the song, minimize the window so you won’t be distracted by the video.

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in Musical and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Music to breathe – Citizen Cope

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Wow. Yeah, like you I really enjoyed the original, but holy crap the Santana version is astounding.

    And the reason I got into Scrubs in the first place is because I was too lazy to move when it was on once, and I found myself laughing my butt off. What can I say, babe, we’re two of a kind.

Leave a Reply

