Blogs that Should Be

I blog every single day, sometimes multiple times a day.  Unfortunately for me –and for you if, for whatever reason, you actually *want* to read my drivel– I can’t type while I drive.

But if I could, you people would hear from me more than you hear from your credit card companies.

Driving is one of the few times of day when my mind is otherwise fairly quiet.  Why?  Geez, you non-ADDers are always with the questions.  It’s because one portion of my brain is solidly focused on driving.  ONE portion, Dys?  Just one?!?  Yeah, trust me; I have fireworks going off from every direction in there the rest of the day (and sometimes night).  One portion is really all you need for driving.  It’s a significant enough portion, however, that you really should SHUT THE HELL UP AND DRIVE, but that’s another blog.

And so it is that while I’m driving, all the things I’d like to say but never make the time for come to the front of my mind.  Of course, I think of small things like:

  • Man, my car is filthy.
  • Damn, I forgot the bank deposit at home.
  • Man, my car is FILTHY.

And then I think of bigger things that I’d actually like to blog about, such as:

  • I really have to find a way to stop staying up until 2 or 3 or 4 in the morning; it’s killing me.  I have yet to see a “cure” for this in one of the gazillion or so ADD books I’ve read/bought/borrowed.  Set up a schedule.  Okay, done it.  Now, tell me how to make myself adhere to it.  I have a list of these types of things.
  • It’s been something like a solid 8 months since I let go of a friend after he told me that he and his wife were having a kid, and I’m still trying to nail down just what the hell my problem is there.  I’ve talked it out to myself in my car.  (Yes, I’m one of those crazy people, but hey, for all you know, I’m singing or talking on a hands-free headset SHUT UP AND DRIVE.)  I’ve talked it out in my dreams, and I don’t notice my dreams very often so that was a bit odd.  I’ve beat it about in my head until it felt as though a men’s beach volleyball tournament had been held in there ….

What?  Oh, sorry.  Momentary lapse of concentration.  And drool.

  • I hate the parent club.  If you have an NT kid and you think we’re in the same club because we’ve both spawned?  That’s like saying we’re in the same club because we both pee more than once a day.  It’s a worthless statistic, a correlation between two things that, in reality, have nothing to do with each other.  Yeah, I have a lot to say on that one.  But I’m not bitter.  🙂
  • My kid went to summer camp at his school last year, which was the plan again for this year.  Right up until the moment they let us know that they would NOT be hosting a summer camp this year.  Mother of God.  What the sam hell am I going to do now???  My initial instinct, of course, was to buck up to the challenge and try to just have a great summer with the kid.  Then he spent a couple of days in a row home sick, and by day two, between my ADD and his AS, I was paralyzed, worthless, irritable, and guilt-ridden.  There are several blogs to be had from that one.

Anyway, please know, dear people who trip past my tiny cubby here on the World Wide Web (doesn’t that just sound hysterical to say out loud in 2008?), I do think of you often and wish that I could blather here a lot more than I seem to find the time to do.  But, if you miss my particular brand of humor, just hit up my husband’s blog.  I’m hysterical over there. 

Even when he misquotes me.  Which is always. 

And, yes, even in the blog where he talks about misquoting me.  The man is consistent.  One of the many reasons I love him!

About dyskinesia

Woman, mother, human being, grammarian. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My child has Asperger syndrome. Philosophy, laughter, therapy, living. Life after divorce.
This entry was posted in ADD, ASD, Asperger's, Kids and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogs that Should Be

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Hey, if I can’t be good, I guess I’ll settle for consistency. 😉

  2. Pingback: Introducing… « The Taoist Biker

Leave a Reply

